Miscellaneous

Faults in Linux Kernel 3.x : Double Locks

As part of my work, I need to annotate the reports generated using Coccinelle Scripts as bugs/FPs for recent Linux Kernels, recent as in versions > 3.0 till the current one 3.18.

This blog post is about the bugs and FPs I found for the report which checks for locks taken two times. You can view the annotated report here.

The rules is not to acquire double locks. Why for this I have already discussed when I working on the reports for Linux Kernel 2.6.xx.

What did I found?

There were many FPs in this case which are intentional. Most had some comments which validates that a case X is not a double lock and it is doing what is required.

I found some bugs too but in previous versions, there were not any in the current version of Linux Kernel.

Leave a Reply

