Git · How To

Errors I Faced and How To Resolve Them

Today I have decided to have a list of errors I faced and how I resolved them, as if someone else get’s those error, this post may help them.

I don’t know how many hours I spend in resolving one or the other error. I’ll be listing all here, from today.

Update error : Required installation of untrusted packages

I got this error in Ubuntu 12.04.

This happens due to the missing of some GPG keys. To fix this , Open a terminal and run the below commands:


sudo apt-get update 

You will get an error saying that some public key is not available. Note the key string ( after the NO_PUBKEY; eg:D6B6DB186A68F637 )

gpg --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv XXXXX

Replace the XXXXX with the key string

gpg --export --armor XXXXX | sudo apt-key add -

sudo apt-get update

Now try updating your system again.

Failed to create a symbolic link ‘/usr/bin/blahblah’:File exists

I got this error when I was loading a module and wanted to create a symbolic link.

This simply tells that the file already exists, so remove the already existing, and try to create again, and this would be resolved.

FATAL: password authentication failed for user “postgres”

This happened when I forgot the password, I added for this user. Resolving this is simple.


sudo -u postgres psql

postgres=# \password

Enter new password:

Enter it again:

postgres=# \q

and you are done. 🙂

You have not concluded your merge (MERGE_HEAD exists)

This was when my one of my pull failed to merge automatically and went to some conflict state and the conflict wasn’t resolved properly before the next pull.

To resolve this:

Undo the merge and pull again.


#undo the merge

git reset --merge [prior git versions]

Resolve the conflict. Add and commit the merge. Pull again.


git pull

and this should work fine.

OperationalError: FATAL:  Peer authentication failed for user “postgres” 

Did you setup your host as localhost in your settings.py? Check that. This is related to Django.

Cannot right click on the desktop (Ubuntu) 

Try running this on your terminal


gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.background show-desktop-icons true

Installation error. gcc failed with exit status 1

Try installing libevent-dev


sudo apt-get install libevent-dev

This list is gonna be very large, today I am winding up here.

I know how you feel if you are reading this! 🙂

 

Could not find a JavaScript runtime while working on installing Jekyll

I solved this by installing node js using


sudo apt-get install nodejs

You can see more about this here. After this they documented it here.

 

One thought on “Errors I Faced and How To Resolve Them

Leave a Reply

